Hello all. I'm a musician/teacher/videographer/engineer that recently took over running a local shop/recording studio. I've been apart of some really great recording teams on some large projects, but I've always entered the studio as just an engineer, I've never set any studios up. It's also been about 3 years since I've done any studio work. Anyway, I landed a gig as as the manager of a local guitar shop/studio. The last guy didn't work out and some of the equipment in the studio was his. Basically I'm trying to figure out which road I should go down on completing this studio to have it for functional use and be able to pull a great return on investment.

Right now this is the equipment we have in the studio...

APPLE G5 COMP W/ PRO TOOLS HD 8
Digidesign 003+ Mic Pre
Focusrite ISA 828 Mic Pre
(2) Digidesign 192 I/O ($750 e/a)
(3) Pro Tools HD PCI-X Card ($300 e/a)
Digidesign Sync ($250)
Line 6 POD PRO
Digitech Control 24 ($3,000)

Alright, the two options I'm looking at are

A: Upgrade to Protools HD 10
B: Switch to Logic Pro X

I also have a MacBook Pro which is my own personal computer that I can use. I bought it to run a DAW (8 gigs RAM etc) but never made the investment for a home studio, working on other gigs.

I just wanted to run this by someone and see if I'm thinking this right, because I'm not a hardware guy. Basically I'm thinking I could go option A, in which case it would cost $1,500 to upgrade from ProTools HD 8 to 10. Or maybe I could just buy Pro Tools HD 10 outright for cheaper and install on MacBook Pro?

Or, option B, I could sell all of the ProTools HD related items on Ebay (no problem doing this). The Control 24 ($3,000), The HD PCI-X Cards ($900 total), the 192s ($1450 total), and the Sync ($250) and have a total of $5,600 give or take that I could invest in microphones and compressors. Minus $200 for Logic Pro X.