Hello, this is my first post on the forum, although I've been on Ultimate-Guitar a lot. But anyway, no one really cares about that, so here i go.

I'm self-taught (no lessons, and they really aren't an option) so I'm not really sure of proper hand positioning, doesn't really cause many problems, YET as I'm still a beginner mostly, except, I find it difficult to get my fingers to do what I want them to do, as in, when practicing the chromatic exercises I find it hard to keep all my fingers close to the fretboard, they just kinda wonder out. My pinky is the worst for it, but I've read a lot of people having pinky problems, so any exercises/knowledge would be appreciated with this, as it is really aggravating.

\m/ JLlovesMM
Quote by JLlovesMM
Hello, this is my first post on the forum, although I've been on Ultimate-Guitar a lot. But anyway, no one really cares about that, so here i go.

I'm self-taught (no lessons, and they really aren't an option) so I'm not really sure of proper hand positioning, doesn't really cause many problems, YET as I'm still a beginner mostly, except, I find it difficult to get my fingers to do what I want them to do, as in, when practicing the chromatic exercises I find it hard to keep all my fingers close to the fretboard, they just kinda wonder out. My pinky is the worst for it, but I've read a lot of people having pinky problems, so any exercises/knowledge would be appreciated with this, as it is really aggravating.

\m/ JLlovesMM

You just need a lot of finger independence exercises done with a relaxed hand.....before you know it your fretting hand ll be retrained and you wont see any flying fingers or pinky problems anymore .
Yeah pretty much keep practicing.
Play really slow (*really* slow) and be very aware of your technique. Make sure it's slow enough where you have perfect control of your movements.
At that tempo, play whatever exercises/licks whatnot that use all your fingers.