I play rhythm guitar in a surf-esque rock band. Neither myself nor the lead guitarist have any distortion whatsoever. Lately, I've had a hankering for a little extra power. I was thinking something along the lines of the Boss DS-1 Overdrive pedal might be nice. I have little to no experience with distortion or overdrive, seeing as I have never dealt with it before. I play with a 12 string Danelectro hooked up to a Fender FRV-1 reverb pedal. I want something to give a bit more power, without losing the reverby surf style of guitar.
Go to your local guitar store with your guitar and pedal, and ask if you can see what it sounds like. Ive taken my amp when ive been buying a guitar, and ive taken my guitar when buying an amp haha. If good people work there, they will want to sell you something. So just go and see which one best suits you mate.
All about the mids!!!!!!!
The Ibanez Tube Screamer.
Gear:
MXR Super Badass -->
BOSS SD WAZA -->
FENDER CD 140 SCE -->
MXR M300 REVERB -->
TC ELECTRONIC FLASHBACK
ESP EC 401 VF TSB -->
BOSS KATANA HEAD 100 WATT -->
MILF Tease
a ds 1 is a distortion.

unless you got it backwards and meant an sd1. which'd work, but i'd probably rather have something else (the sd1 is a bit more marshally-sounding and grittier to my ears).
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
Quote by jaybals