Hey guys. I am 21 year old guy who has never played but has always wanted to learn the guitar. I went to the store yesterday and told them i wanted a good beginner guitar for under $300. He said to choose between the Fender CD60 and the Epiphone AJ220. I am clueless in guitars so i was wondering which one you guys would recommend. They are both $200 and they both feel good in my hands. I think i would be more into playing "Softer" music because im not a big fan of rock and I like Jack Johnson and stuff like that. So any help is great! And whats the best way to learn? Youtube? Like whats the first step, shoul di just learn the chords first? Thanks!
I would go with the epiphone. Although I do not know much about this particular model, I have never played a just plain bad epiphone. Either way, as you learn you will find your own style/taste in guitars.

As a self taught guitarist, I used a combination of youtube, and reading articles. Scroll to the top of the page. UG has an excellent lesson databass. Anything guitar related from beginner to advanced. Also check out the guitar techniques forum. Get a good chord book/app.

First step is to get familiar with your guitar. Pluck around, figure out mary had a little lamb.

I feel bad for your fingers, it will be painful after the first hour or two!

Good luck!
See if you can find an Epiphone Masterbilt on the used market. They're a very good value for the price and have a really good preamp if you need to plug into a P.A. system or amp.
Blakerbomb,