Let me explain, i was self taught and so developed my own way of playing. I was able to play anything at any speed. I stopped playing like ten years ago and never touched a guitar again. Just a few days ago i returned to play the guitar and thought i should take the time to correct my technique but i'm having a hard time.

For now i will give two examples of my wrong technique.

The fingers problem:

E: ------------- 12 14 15 14 15 14 15
B: 12 14 15 ------------------------------- 15 14 12

I used to play that with fingers 1, 2 and 3 with an angled left hand while the correct would be fingers 1, 3 and 4 with a straight left hand. Using my wrong technique i still can play that lick at any speed.

The alternate picking problem:

E: ------------- 12 14 15
B: 12 14 15

Following the correct alternate picking you get an upstroke at E 12. But with my wrong technique i would always start with a downstroke everytime i would go down one string. So i would downstroke the E 12 in such example, and trying to upstroke it is giving me some kind of MIND PARALYSIS.
Last edited by BananaJoe at Aug 5, 2013,
It's not that you should play that using fingers 1, 2, and 4, but rather, you shouldn't not use your pinky at all. If you find yourself never using your pinky, then I would call that a wrong technique and look into correcting it.

As for the alternate picking thing, that's not a wrong technique, that's economy picking/speed picking, and there's nothing wrong with it.

It's got its advantages and disadvantages with respect to strict alternate picking, I suggest you practice both. I for one tend to economy pick most of the time.
Quote by Pleasure2kill
The truth is, Muslims never apologized for their faith having something to do with the attacks on 9/11.
Quote by damian_91

As for the alternate picking thing, that's not a wrong technique, that's economy picking/speed picking, and there's nothing wrong with it.