I just got a Blackstar HT-5R and I'm confused about how to turn it on. I've never had a nice amp before so I'm new to this stuff. I don't want to mess it up.

The manual says:

Always turn on standby at least 30 seconds after the power switch.

It says you should always turn the power switch on before turning on the standby switch.

But I've read other sites and it says the opposite... Can someone with a blackstar amp explain to me what to do? Thanks a lot.
just turn the power on, let the tubes warm up then, flip the standby...standby is basically a mute switch, its good for when you need to stop playing for a minute but don't wanna turn off the amp completely. It also is supposed to help tubes last longer. Just go power--->let sit for a few seconds--->standby-->rock...
Fender MiM Strat
Fender MiM Tele
Gretsch Pro Jet
Blackstar HT40
Vox AC15
This issue can be confusing because different manufacturers use different terminology, and make their switches go different directions.

Looking at a picture of your amp, you probably want to first flip the "Power" to "On", and then after that flip the "Standby" to "On".

You'll know which order to do it in in any case by just seeing what the light does. Both switches away from "On" means the amp is off. Flip "Standby" to "On", and see if the light comes on. If it does, then that's the one you want to flip first. If it doesn't, then the other switch is the one you want to turn on first.

Lastly, don't stress out about it. Not waiting for your amp to warm up in standby isn't going to damage your amp in any way. The only real difference it makes is that your sound won't fade in like it will if you just flip the power on and go. Using your standby can preserve your tube life a little, but at the same time leaving your amp in standby for long periods of time can kill your tube life more quickly. It's two sides to a coin, but neither side is drastic or worth losing hair over.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.