I've been playing guitar for almost 5 years now. But have been serious for about 3

for the past year I've been cracking down on my alternate picking. And I'm getting no where. AT ALL. I'm stuck in the 125-130bpm range. And i've been doing the slow and gradually buildup process forever.

I'm in a metal band that requires a lot of tremolo picking and galloping. So that's what I have been practicing ever since I joined them back in December. I found a tremolo picking lick that covers all strings to practice and I made up my own little gallop riff to practice.

I start the metronome at 60bpm and gradually increase. But recently I've been paying attention for certain things to look for more closely then before. But I don't know exactly what to look for....the only major thing I notice is that when I get faster, with how high my strings are off the body, (I play a Les Paul) It gets harder to tremolo on the low E string and it's BAD, like my picking has a hard time slicing through it and it bounces all over the place.... and then my hand and wrist tenses up and looks weird. But I don't know how to fix this considering it tenses up RIGHT AT 125-130.

Any tips? I'm studying this in college and I don't even like to consider myself a musician yet...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VrFV5r8cs0&sns=em

Maybe playing faster isn't in the cards for you. That doesn't mean you can't improve other aspects of your playing. Mark Knopfler once lamented that he couldn't play fast like he speed metal players...but I think its fair to say he's done alright for himself.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I would say (and I'm not exactly an expert here) to just keep working at it. I would also try to keep moving up the baseline. Next time start at 65bpm, then the next time start at 70bpm etc.