So i just started playing highway to hell by ac/dc. The song is in the key of a major but the solo is in a minor. Why does it fit with the song?
I know its a lame question but seriously i am confused.
Well, I don't think it's in A major. Just looking at the chords, it looks like D major.
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
The solo is still in the major key, it just uses notes outside it to get a certain sound. You can actually use any note you want in keys. Notes that are not diatonic to the key are called accidentals.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
i'm not sure it's in A major (though don't quote me on that). it uses the G chord (unless I'm misremembering) which'd be the minor 7th of A (assuming A is the root/I chord). It may well be in D as BladeSlinger says.

however (like most classic rock) it's kinda bluesy (at least, the solo is), and as such, a minor scale over the same major chord normally "works". the whole thing with blues is messing with the whole major/minor thing (among other things).
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
Last edited by Dave_Mc at Aug 7, 2013,