I know that there is an official thread for FR-styled trems. But I hope it's ok to make a separate thread about mine specifically. As I'm going to do much work on it. So if this is against the rules, please message me instead of going for teh InstaBanz.

Anyway, I'm going to look at my edge III and see if there is anything to fix(intonation etc). I'm also going to setup the tremolo for ultra light .008 strings and as low action as possible without buzz for teh shredz.

I was thinking that I could make some sort of journal or something. And aside from just me learning, other users(newbies) will as well. As there seems to be an awful lack of guides specializing on the Edge III. I can provide pictures if wanted.

This is my first time doing something like this. So here it goes:

- 1. I believe I've had the trem setup at an incorrect angle and this is supposed to wear more on the knife edges? Correct?
So what I'm going to do first is check the knife edges to see if they are worn. Is it safe just removing the springs and just take the thing out? Strings are already removed.
I suppose it's good to buy some new springs as I've had the same ones since I got the guitar(4-5 years back).
I remember watching some Youtube video showing a fix for the wear on the edges by putting a piece of nylon in between the metals. Would this work?

- 2. The frets also seem to be worn. Is there anything I can do about this?

I'll start with this.
Last edited by PunchSlap at Aug 8, 2013,
This is the only guide you will ever need to setup any floating trem:

http://forum.ibanez.com/yaf_postst69978_MEGATRON-S-FLOATING-TREM-GUIDE.aspx

It's totally safe to remove strings and pull the trem right out.

I would not put nylon between the blades and posts. You want a solid metal on metal contact there. You can sharpen them however and lubricate it with graphite or the like.