Im not a absolute beginner, i've been screwing around on guitar for awhile, only really started getting serious now. And i finally got a metronome and I've been practicing this riff at 19bpm, hoping to inch my way up and at the same time completely be able to do it once i get to its 109 bpm actual speed.

A friend of mine told me 19bpm is way too slow cause its alot harder to keep time at slower speed, and i should go to atleast 30, (which ive tried and can do) then inch up from there)

i was hoping to repeat the riff atleast 20 times at 19 bpm and move up 1 bpm per shot i get that right.

So my questions are:

Is my friend right?
And is what im doing overkill?

Thank you
Are you playing 64th notes?

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
Yeah that's ridiculously slow don't you think?

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
Thank you all for the responses, i figured it was slow, but i always read to start slow and move up, and seeing as how i just started using metronomes and stuff, i figured why not take it down ALOT, but i see that that wasnt the best way to do it, thank you all so much
you won't get better unless you play at a fast enough speed that simulates the difficulties of your target speed
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
the reason i had stayed at 19 bpm is cause i really couldnt keep time with that pace, i was off by a little at some points and it really got me frustrated.
If you need to slow it down that much to stay in time I dont see a problem.