Hey everyone, I'm new here and I've decided to start playing guitar again and write my own music. I'm currently working a solo project, and I'm unsure which guitar I should buy.

I'm currently looking at either the 'Squier Jaguar,' 'Squier Jazzmaster,' or an 'Epiphone Les Paul'

I'm planning on playing in either Standard, D Standard or Drop D. (Most probably Drop D) and going for a Rockish, alternative sound. (E.g Pearl Jam, Arctic Monkeys, Guns 'n' Roses, etc.)

my vocals are relatively mellow and relaxed, (similar to Adam Gontier's vocals or something like Eddie Vedder's Softer songs, maybe less 'rugged' though.) so I'm not particularly sure which guitar would fit better, I'm planning on using either a Jazz bass or Jaguar bass.

I only really want to pay $650 or less, just because I don't really earn too much money being an apprentice, I'm also investing in other musical gear and would rather keep prices relatively low and if all goes well upgrade later.

If you guys have any other guitar recommendations, let me have it!

Thank you and sorry if I posted in the wrong forum.
Last edited by Insipricated at Aug 9, 2013,
$650 what? USD, AUD? Whereabouts are you located?

Are you willing to go used?

EDIT: We typically allow one bump a day around here. Regardless, don't bump after 30 minutes. Your post never left the first page, just not everyone is on at all times. Be patient.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Last edited by Offworld92 at Aug 9, 2013,
Quote by Offworld92
$650 what? USD, AUD? Whereabouts are you located?

Are you willing to go used?

EDIT: We typically allow one bump a day around here. Regardless, don't bump after 30 minutes. Your post never left the first page, just not everyone is on at all times. Be patient.