Hi everyone,

First of all, my apologies if this is an often-asked question. I did gather some info, but what I found wasn't very specific to the query I had in mind.

I'm a guitar beginner, looking to purchase my first electric. I used to play around with an old acoustic that used to belong to a friend of mine so that I could learn the basics, now I want to move on to something better so that I can build my skill set better.

I'd like some suggestions on which guitar is preferable. My budget would be $100-$250. The sort of music I love and would want to reproduce is stuff like Porcupine Tree, Opeth, Alcest etc. Out of the ones I've seen, I was very fascinated by the Epiphone Les Paul Special II, but it seems to have more of the 70's-80's rock feel to its sound. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot.

Sai
You can pretty much use any guitar to play anything, the overall tone is much more dependent on your amps and pedals.**

Epiphones are good but if you can get a used Les Paul Studio rather than a Special, it'll serve you much better.

**(A vast generalisation, I know. But still more accurate than pigeonholing a single guitar to a single genre.)
Last edited by johnnykbop at Aug 11, 2013,
If you are in the US look at rondo music. best place for budget guitars. Also where are you located cause if you will go used I bet we can find something good for you. Just stay away from the epi specials.
Check out your local Guitar Center/Sam Ash (if you have one) for used Epi LP's. I have found a few gems doing that.
Thanks for the replies. I'll be in Phoenix, Arizona when I'll be getting the guitar.

Looking around in rondoguitar now. I've been staying away from used guitars because I don't know much yet about electric guitars, so it probably will be a big problem if something goes wrong..