I've been playing since around 2007-2008, but the past 3 years, I've played nothing but acoustic guitar (and a long stint of nothing...bad period of time) and I've recently switched back to electric...to find that my plan to get better by playing acoustic...failed miserably, I seem to have stalled for awhile and have forgotten just about every electric technique I ever learned, though, to be fair, I concentrated on fingerstyle the past few years.

Anyway, I'm not a beginner, I can play, though not NEARLY as well as I should, I've never taken lessons, practiced with a metronome or put much effort into music theory. I'm not even sure where to start at this point, I really don't wanna go completely back to basics as if I never played before, seems like it would set me back too much, but I'm sure there is SOME stuff to learn like that.

Anyway, I'm really looking to get back into metal, specifically more melodic stuff, from melo-death to Steve Vai, I'd really like to concentrate on this stuff, it seems like it would help with my love of classical, folk and video game soundtrack stuff. I love classical music, but traditional classical guitar is a bit beyond me (for now, I would like to go back to fingerstyle, bass + melody at the same time eventually, but the electric guitar is the closest thing I can find to what I like)

I've tried youtube and such, but it's basically just giving me everything ever at once, I'd like to do things one at a time, my biggest problem is trying to stretch myself too thin. I also REALLY need advice on proper practicing techniques with a metronome and what I should do with one (besides play stuff to the beat...)