Page 1 of 3
Hi,

First post, so hello and thank you for having me.

I'm a just-about-intermediate guitarist with a budget of about £1000 (UK), or $1,500 (US) for a guitar and an amp. I'm looking for advice about which guitar to pair with which amp. Below I describe what I'm after; it would be great if anyone out there could tell me if I'm in the right ball park with the guitars and amps I'm looking at for my purposes or if I could be doing better.

Mainly I'd be playing at home, trying to improve my skills, having fun. My only previous electric guitar (10 years ago!) was a white Epiphone LP copy going through a Laney amp of some sort. I liked it, but found the guitar a bit heavy to carry about. And there was something I didn't quite like about the feel of the fretboard that I can't put my finger on (pardon the pun). Perhaps it was the shape of the neck (too broad?). It was a long time ago, but I'm certain there are better options for me.

Now I have a bigger budget and your wisdom & experience to guide me, I'd like to choose more carefully. I also live in Sweden, which complicates things a tad: smaller country, fewer guitar shows, smaller choice. I can get anything I want, but it has to be ordered in for me to try, which might meet with reluctance from shop owners; what will they do with a guitar I order in and don't like enough to buy? Not that this should stop me from getting what I want, of course, but it means I should prioritize wisely on what I ask for.

Further thoughts on what I'm looking for below.

Guitar thoughts: