Page 1 of 2
Howdy. Didn't know where else to put this because this doesn't necessarily fall under technique.

I've been practicing quite hard for a good while now, I've really nailed my picking/strumming technique, I ain't anchoring, I can play my scales at 200+ bpm cleanly, got over the barre chords, I'd say that's good for an intermediate, but I got one major problem: I suck.
I'm fine when it comes to rhythm guitar and the most basic solos, however my passion for example is the Blues Guitar, despite me learning some licks, scales, 12 bar blues, I've been searching through the blues song tabs(which seem to be insanely huge) tonight and I found myself helpless, can't possibly figure out the distinction between the song and actual tabs, seeing as I still can't play by ear.

My question to other self-taught players: How did you manage to get out of a rut and get to learn some things that seemed incredibly hard at first? Does one's will power play a major role there?

Thank you very much in advance! And I apologize if this thread has the echo of whining around it, I sincerely didn't intend to do so, I just feel a bit clueless and somewhat discouraged.
Last edited by TheBystander9 at Aug 13, 2013,
Actually comprehending what you're learning instead of simply mimicking it is the best way to progress.
Check out my band Disturbed
I've never gotten into a rut because I have major thing going for me: I don't suck.
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Slow it down, pay attention to fingering and picking, and gradually speed it up.

Most importantly, pay attention to the tones you're playing. listen for similar intervals and get a feel for pitch. The best way of doing this is to find an online program which helps you hone your search the note you're looking for through relative pitch and the like. A few Google searches should find you it (I'd look myself, but I can't remember what the bloody thing was called).