Hey guys, I can't believe with all the searches I've done I can't find much help with this issue, so hopefully someone here can help me out. If it's out there and I missed it, please forgive me.

I picked up an HD500 a few months ago that I use for direct in while writing, and effects only when I play live, which I run through my Mesa Dual Rec.

The issue I'm having is that the delays and reverbs just sound like garbage, no matter how much I adjust or treble/bass controls. I have a spider IV and the onboard effects on that sound great, so I'm boggled as to what I'm doing wrong with the HD500.

I run my chain like this - Guitar > Tuner > HD500 > Noise Suppressor > Mesa Front.
FYI - I am new to tube amps and FX loops.

I have trouble describing the particular issue, so if nobody understands what I mean I'll make a recording of it and put it on youtube or something.

Basically, the delay and reverb overpower the original signal - as if I'm running them pre instead of post, regardless of where the mix/treble/bass knobs are. So basically, if I want a really quiet reverb or delay, it sounds fine. But if I want to run delay over a distorted signal, it muddies up the entire signal. If I want to have a very 'airy' reverb, it muddies up the whole signal.

I've tried moving things around in the digital chain using the HD500 edit software, I made sure I don't have both inputs set to guitar. Everything else on this pedal sounds great and I love it for being able to quickly record ideas into my computer, but this issue with delay and reverb is driving me nuts.

I know that may sound confusing so I hope somebody can understand what I mean.
If anyone has any advice please chime in, I would appreciate it very much!!