Sup guys. I have a Traynor YCV50 tube amp that has "2 EL34 and 3 12AX7A premium tubes" in it. Im assuming the EL34s are the preamp section and the 12AX7As are the power section?

Anyways i have 4 fresh Electro Harmonix EL34EH tubes kicking around. Does anyone know how that affect the sound, if at all? How would i go about swapping them, would it be as easy as pulling the other ones out and plugging the new ones in? Which ones would they replace, just the EL34s in the preamp or could i replace the 12AX7As with them and why or why not? Sorry lol im a noob when it comes to amplifiers haha.
Quote by yellowfrizbee
What does a girl have to do to get it in the butt thats all I ever wanted from you. Why, Ace? Why? I clean my asshole every night hoping and wishing and it never happens.
Bitches be Crazy.

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
ok. the 12ax7s are the peramp, the el34s are power amp.

the preamp is the first stage, the first part of the map that sees your guitar signal and effects. when you use overdrives, etc, its all affecting those 12ax7s. this is what takes your little guitar signal, makes it gritty, etc, and amplifies the signal enough to push it through the rest of the tube, EQ, effects loop, and on to the power section.

the power section are the big tubes. the WATTS. when the amp says 50 watts, its the big tubes doing the work. the power section takes that preamp signal and amplifies it some more with enough power to push it out to your speakers.

this section is what determines OVERALL headroom of the map and certain tonal characteristics concerning the amp overdriving, and some response characteristics including the amount of OOMPP or brootz. part of the reason why most brutal high gain sounds involve lots of watts and a big ol cab.