I just started learning barre chords only because I've heard it's necessary. But I literally can't do one chord before I get a bad cramp at the base of my thumb. It's making it really hard to learn them. Is there anything I can do?
If you're on any kind of "Statin" type medication, (Lipitor, Lovastatin, etc.), these can lead to muscle cramps. Calcium and potassium deficiencies can also cause the problem..

In most cases, it's a combination of strings too high, and hands too weak from lack of practice.

The guitar tends to use muscle groups in odd places, that are not developed in everyday life.

I have no idea what kind of guitar is giving you this problem. If we're talking about an acoustic, most of them could benefit from a good "set up", and perhaps lighter gauge strings.

If we're talking about an electric that already has a low "action" and light strings, you need to stop complaining and practice.

My instructor once told me that playing an acoustic with a little bit high action, would toughen you up for the easier and faster playing electric guitar.
Last edited by Captaincranky at Aug 18, 2013,
Chance are pretty high you're just pressing down far too hard, which quickly causes your hands to cramp up, practice playing the chords very lightly, it will help you sound in tune as well. With barre chords, you want your thumb parallel to your middle finger on the back of the neck, don't put pressure on it, just relax.
Quote by Velcro Man
Chance are pretty high you're just pressing down far too hard, which quickly causes your hands to cramp up, practice playing the chords very lightly, it will help you sound in tune as well. With barre chords, you want your thumb parallel to your middle finger on the back of the neck, don't put pressure on it, just relax.