I have been playing guitar for 2 1/2 years and I mostly play metal [shocker!] Aside from exercises, I like to cover songs. Lately I have been working on technique and writing, but I would like to start learning new songs. Basically my question is would I benefit from learning Necrophagist [or any very difficult artists] at slow tempos and gradually increase, or should I play songs within my skill level at full speed with minimal practice needed? My best friend has been playing for almost 7 years and there is a big gap in skill level [of course] He always wants to jam songs way beyond my skill level. I try to learn them at slow tempos and its still challenging, but discouraging at the same time. I don't care for learning a bunch of simple songs that just chug chug chug. Quality over quantity right?

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance
i'm not sure i'm qualified enough to answer your question in a way that would be beneficial to you, but i personally do enjoy learning hard songs that take a while to 'cultivate,' for lack of a better word.
If I had my 2 cents, I what you want to do myself. And it works to a point. I am sort of at August burns red level now, and I wanted to push up and do protest the hero and obscura, you know, tech stuff. So what I recommend, is learn the one or 2 riffs in a song more technical beyond your own. Everything you could manage without taking away from your own time to develop your skill. So like for the obscura example, I did most of the songs riffs because they are easy (the song is incarnated if you want to try). But for the solo, I decided not to get stuck on something I wouldn't be able to play for a long time.
If you find (trying to) play songs beyond your skill level discouraging, don't do it.
Work your way up, start with simple songs with easy solo's, practice them untill you nail them.
This way works at least for me (it doesn't feel like I'm practicing).