So I have been playing guitar for about 9 years. I like to play a lot of metal and shred, but would definitely like to become more of a well rounded guitarist so an amp that is slightly versatile would be nice. However not nearly as important as getting a great high gain tone.

My Current gear is

90's Epiphone les paul
Esp ltd dj-600

Crate Flexwave 120w/2x12
Line 6 Uber Metal Pedal

I Plan on getting rid of my pedal and amp, but keep the guitars. I can't get a decent tone out of them and I can't take playing through that setup anymore. Some of the bands I listen to are Parkway Drive, COB, Trivium, The Human Abstract, Protest the Hero. So I would like to be able to emulate something in that realm of tone. Although I have been learning some Jason Becker, Malmsteen and other stuff lately so it would be cool if it could handle that too. I plan on sticking with a combo because realistically I won't be gigging anytime soon. My only other concern is that it sounds decent at low levels, but can handle jamming with friends and be heard over the drums.

After plenty of research I have pretty much Narrowed it down to a Peavey 6505+ 112. I just can't decide on what to go with for some pedals. I was thinking a Maxon OD808 to boost it and an ISP Noise Decimator to quiet it down. The only things I'm worried about with 6505+ is will it handle bedroom level well and will the noise decimator be able to get rid of the screech I hear this amp has at anything over 5 without killing the tone?

So will a 6505+ ran through a Maxon OD808 and an ISP Noise Decimator handle the high gain and silence most of the Background noise? Is this a decent setup?

My budget is around $1000 give or take a little. I can spend a little more if needed because I would rather spend more for quality within reason.
Last edited by guitargod123 at Aug 19, 2013,
What you suggested actually sounds like a perfect set up. I was going to suggest that, even without the boost. But the boost could help for sure.