Hi, I've been playing on and off for around 6 years. It started when my younger brother had lessons for a few months. he would come home and show me what he had learned, so I learned a few basic chords and basic skills, but didn't have a guitar of my own so never really got that far. He lost interest so I stole his guitar and learned a few songs but then he sold it.

I then dug out my mum's classical guitar which she got when she was 6 (making it 30 odd years old) and restrung it and began playing that. Obviously being a classical guitar and totally unsuitable for what I wanted to play I taught myself to fingerpick a little and I'm pretty decent at it.

I've got myself a bullet strat now and have been playing that, which has been hard to re adjust to again, but I'm getting there. I just feel like because I haven't had lessons, I'll never be a real guitarist. I don't know any theory either what so ever, which I'm gonna get into soon. I might have a few lessons in the future once I'm out of uni and have money, but I just needed to get it out there. Thanks for reading haha.
some of the best guitarists have been self taught. Eric Clapton, Eddie Van Halen, Jimi Hendrix
Nah, nothing wrong with teaching yourself in my opinion. It all depends on the individual - some folks learn better at their own pace and they don't mind pulling the bits and pieces together. Others absolutely need supervision to get to their goals. I see that in my Beginners Guitar Course all the time and I've seen it when I was giving face to face lessons. People couldn't be more different.