Hey guys,

I'm a bassist and amateur recording engineer, and I need a guitar.

Budget: $300-$400 Australian, pretty firm on that too so don't bother telling me to save and spend $500 or anything.
Favourite Artists: None really
Preferences: I'm not too keen on strat style guitars, but it's not a make or break thing.
Pickups: Preferably after HSH or HH, but would go SSH if it meant a better instrument. Not keen on only one pickup.
New or Used: Probably new, my used market is crap. I have no problem with used though if a good deal comes up.
Current Gear: Not much, my 'guitar amp' will be a bass practice amp and my Digitech BP355.
Other info: I'm after something versatile, but most of my stuff is metal (Asking Alexandria, Blessthefall, Pierce the Veil, Bring Me The Horizon type stuff) or Punk (Green Day -ish, check out my band in my sig to get an idea).
Any idea what kind of guitars you like, shapewise? Can you get to a shop to try stuff out?
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
Fernandes Guitars' direct sales shop has a few guitars in your price range- here are 2 of several examples:

http://www.fernandesguitarshop.com/vertigo/33-vertigo-x.html

http://www.fernandesguitarshop.com/ravelle/30-ravelle-x.html

Make no mistake- those are entry level axes, but Fernandes makes a good product in general.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by Klaptrap
Go to a shop yourself.

Everything we tell you is subjective