So I'm trying to decide between a TC Electronic MojoMojo overdrive, and a MXR GT-OD. I play an EC-1000 with SD pickups into a Line6 DT25. My preferred tones are usually pretty dark, Kyuss, Atomic Bitchwax, Sleep and Neurosis, etc

I like the sound of the MojoMojo a bit better, it's very bassy, and when the bass distorts it sounds all muddy or splatty and very, I don't know, distressed. Like the speaker is getting mashed, or something is distorting in a loud and violent way. I like this dirty mucky tone, it feels nasty and rocky, but on the other hand, it's not generally considered to be a 'good' tone. And to be honest, I don't really trust my own taste..! This is where the problems begin.

By having bassy distortion I get a 'feel' that my tone is heavy and loud, and the MojoMojo is doing that for me, but by the time I get to mixing a track, will I be regretting that I have a 'bad' tone? I am not experienced in that part of the process AT ALL. Maybe bass guitar, or doubled guitar tracks would add the thickness I like instead. The MXR I can only describe as 'smooth', and sounds a lot more like a typical overdrive.

So, I know which I like while I'm jamming, but I'm having a hard time guessing which pedal would sound better in a mix, or later down the line when my ear for this have become a bit better...

Advice welcome!!
Last edited by innovine at Aug 23, 2013,
You can achieve your goals in multiple ways, I believe. I find that a raw, slightly overdriven guitar and an overdriven bass give a fat tone, but multiple guitar tracks are an option as well, of course. If it's for recording, don't be afraid to try stuff. I know people that run a fuzz pedal DI in a track that is mixed in with their "normal" drive sound. I did a track with the tone completely rolled off on the neck pickup for one of my bands songs and it blends in really well, yet sounds shit on it's own.