Hello there everyone, I'm new here in these parts, so please don't pick on the the new guy Currently I am looking into getting the third member in my guitar family

I currently have a Silvertone Citation (My first guitar and her name is "Yuri" ), and some unknown guitar I got from some Antique shop made by some company "Harmony" (His name is "Chuck" because he's old ).

Anyways down to the issue, I am looking into attaining either a Epiphone Les Paul Standard(Heritage Cherry Sunburst) or a Epiphone SG G-400(White).

I'm not very experienced with Guitar know-how, so I was hoping you guys could help me choose which one would be best to play J-Pop or any kind of pop actually. I love songs like "God Knows" and "Don't be Lazy" so that would describe what kind of guitar I'm looking for hopefully, just in case anyone were to ask the style of music I'm into.

Edit: I forgot to mention that I am open to other suggestions and that my Budget is around $600

(PS. The third ones name is going to be "Hursy"
Last edited by Oshaberi at Aug 26, 2013,
I have a Gibson SG Standard and love it. It feels good, sounds good (57 classics), and is fairly light. Something about the devil horns that gets me every time haha. Honestly an SG and a Les Paul sound so similar that I would say just go with the one that feels better. The SG will be easier on your body.
As far as playing it and being comfortable , esp live....

Les Paul wins by 1000 miles , but they are a little heavier (as in weight)

I can't stand how SG's hang slightly forward because of where the strap locks are
I suppose either guitar could play j-pop music, but so could a bunch of other guitars. You might want to look at the range of guitars available, see what appeals to you and also see what kinds of guitars and amps your favorite j-pop bands use. For the more famous ones, like The Seatbelts, you should be able to find this info.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Jfi81Z0PP8