I'm currently not using any effects on my bass, and my amp isn't getting anywhere near the sound I want. I'm playing on a Krate amp with a Hartke cab. The amp is eh, but the cab sounds pretty good. The best example of the sound I want is this video: /watch?v=HCp8vE1ZT0g (won't let me post full youtube link for some reason, just paste this after "youtube.com")
I'm quite new to playing bass in a band, and I have no idea where to even begin with effects pedals. We play deathcore with some technical death metal feeling bits here and there. When recording, we used a Line 6 hd500 pod and got a pretty nice bass tone (we also had some fancy bass plugins on our recording computer to fine tune the sound.) I figured maybe I should invest in something similar to that pedal if I want to pull off those tones. Any tips would be appreciated.
SansAmp Bass driver is all you'll ever need, really.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
MatrixClaw is on the money for recording. The Sansamp is good stuff.

But I've had great fun with a Pod XT Bass. Yeah, they made a Pod specifically for bass, and I love it.

Bass POD® xt Features

* Discrete Processed & DI Outputs
* +4dBu / -10dBV balanced 1/4 Inch Outputs
* 24-bit A/D and D/A Converters
* MIDI In, Out/Thru
* RJ-45 Foot Controller Connector
* USB Connector for Digital I/O
* Headphone Output
* Bass Input

Bass PODxt Amp Models based on*:

* Acoustic 360
* Aguilar® DB750
* Alembic F-2B
* Ampeg® B-15A
* Ampeg® SVT
* Eden Traveller WT-300
* Fender® Bassman®
* Fender® Dual Showman®
* Gallien Kruger 800RB
* Hiwatt® DR-103
* Hiwatt® 200 DR
* Marshall® Major
* Marshall® Plexi Super Bass
* Mesa/Boogie® 400+
* Polytone Mini-Brute
* Sunn® Coliseum
* SWR® SM-500
* Vox® AC100
* Line 6 Original - Line 6 Tube Preamp
* Line 6 Original - Line 6 Sub Dub
* And six more!