I play mostly blues rock and classic rock and am ready to upgrade my guitar. I use a MIM Strat that I have had for 5 years or so, and want something that sounds and feels better. The new PRS S2's have me interested. Anyone played one? I've also looked at Gibson nighthawks, Carvins, and USA Strats. I could just upgrade my current strat with some new pickups. Do you guys think that a MIM strat with aftermarket pickups would sound as good as an American made one in this price range?
Your amp defines your sound more than pickups- what are you playing through right now?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I have a digitech rp500 going through a fender superchamp xd. I know that the pedal doesn't quite sound as good as just through a real tube amp, but I like the diversity it gives.
I wouldn't waste money on a new guitar. With fender it's the quality control the you need to look at certain american made guitar's will having shockingly basic factory issues like fret's sprouting and the neck being misaligned while certain mim guitars will be perfect and feel great & vice versa.
So do you think my best bet is just to upgrade my pickups? I still have the stock ones in.
Quote by ahappysloth
I wouldn't waste money on a new guitar. With fender it's the quality control the you need to look at certain american made guitar's will having shockingly basic factory issues like fret's sprouting and the neck being misaligned while certain mim guitars will be perfect and feel great & vice versa.