Hi guys, i have been playing guitar for about 6 years now, and in a band for 5 of those.

I have always been a rhythm player and never a lead player.

I am mainly self taught but had some lessons, however dont really play other people songs or do covers.

I have now been told I need to start playing more lead guitar for the band but have no idea where to start or how to write lead stuff, s any help would be great.

Thanks

ATR
Running through:

Engl Fireball
Engl Slanted Cab
Ibanez Xiphos
Schecter C-1 FR Black
Ibanez GRG (on its way)

Pedals:
Boss Noise Gate, Zakk Wylde Overdrive, Boss Tuner, Zakk Wylde Wah.
Well the first thing to do would be to identify what it is you want to sound like, from there the path becomes a lot more clear.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Well, obviously the mechanics of playing single-note lines. Scales, arpeggios, all that stuff.

There are several strategies for "lead" playing. In most pop and rock playing, the lead lines are based on a riff or hook, a repeating figure that becomes identified with the song.
You can base this off the melody of the song, or off the chord changes.
Most jazz improvisation is either off the melody or the chords.

But in most pop and rock playing, there isn't much improvisation... Fans want to hear that solo just like it was recorded on the record or CD or whatever. Maybe a little improvisation...
So most players not only have to play a lead line, they have to memorize it as well.
Well I would love to have a zakk wylde type of solos, with a mixture of other bands.

But I was thinking more of solos and the like. The best way to learn how to write one or learn how to do them etc
Running through:

Engl Fireball
Engl Slanted Cab
Ibanez Xiphos
Schecter C-1 FR Black
Ibanez GRG (on its way)

Pedals: