Ohai
So. I've been recording for a couple of years, so I'm pretty new to this whole thing. Luckily, I've had a mentor in the form of a friend who produces Jazz/Electronica music, which has been super helpful, but with him being largely a jazz/electronica producer, guitars are largely beyond his knowledge, especially the distorted metal sort. We did some work doing sort of pop-rock with a mutual friend, but that was not helpful whatsoever as far as help with guitars go.
I've just set up my own computer with some software (Cubase/Komplete/Studio Drummer/a metric ton of amp sim VSTs) and am in the process of recording a collection of metal-type songs I have floating around - as you do.
I've read all the right articles, listened to all the right albums and got all the right things, the problem seems to be assembling everything in a manner which I really like.
Initially I was doing 2 tracks - Tubescreamer>5150>MESA cab panned hard right and MESA Rectifier>MESA cab panned hard left (all sims - LePoulin, Guitar Rig, Amplitube, ReValver).
Having stumbled in on Devin Townsend quite by accident about a month ago (and having a long-held interest in Tremonti), I started tracking 4 guitars - 2 MESA>MESA cab with slightly different EQ's panned hard left and right, 5150>MESA cab 90% right and a Soldano>MESA cab with quite a lot of delay going through a HPF to avoid muddiness 90% right.
Now I'm faced with the issue that when I mix amps, I lose the characteristics of the the amp I'm using for a reason - the MESA's searing highs, the 5150's midrange because I'm mixing it wrong.
So: in this situation, am I trying to put to much in and should I strip it back to the MESA/5150 panned hard, or is there some deft EQing I should be doing in order to make the 4track-multi-amp thing work?
Sorry for the long post...
Devin Townsend? You'll fit right in.