Hey guys!
I'm quite new to recording and use relatively cheap equipent: Zoom Asio G2nu Interface in combination with Cubase LE5. Recording guitar tracks works well, but when it comes to recording the bass guitar I get terrible results, especially when playing low notes (on the e-string). I can't really explain it but these low notes sound really unnatural, almost like in this youtube video (jump to 1:08): watch?v=C2r_dJ40QI4
Do you know what causes the problem?
Thank you very much!!
Cheers, Ernst
Sounds like it's clipping to me. Turn down your input stage.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
^.

It probably is that, but it would be nice to have a recording of said result to be sure.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
You need to increase the buffer size. I don't know how your settings work with your gear, but when adjusting for latency you reduce the buffer. If you go too low it will sound like that. I'm new to all this stuff as well, but that's what I've seen in my settings.

Last edited by D_M_I at Sep 11, 2013,
^think you're confused. Sample rate isn't what you want to be adjusting. I think you mean buffer size?

TS, a copy of the actual recording would be great.

Again, ChemicalFire probably has the answer, just turn it down at the preamp.
Thanks guys! I will create a soundcloud-account at once and upload a sample
don't have a proper recording but quickly recorded a few low notes (no editing at all): https://soundcloud.com/testaccount_ernesto/bad-quality-sample