Hi

I'm very new to this so apologies for any naivety!

I usually play drums but have recently taken up guitar as I really want something to do in the evenings at home. Apparently practicing drums in the evenings isn’t something the neighbours like...I am loving it but my sound is a pretty uninspiring...

I have an Adam Black Orion (a lot of guitar for the money!) and a Peavey Special 112 (basically an old Bandit with Super Saturation but 160watts rather than the usual 60-70watts).

The Super saturation isn’t really doing it for me; it’s kinda fuzzy with little definition. I'm looking for a bright crisp crunch. I know everyone probably says this but the ACDC sound would be ideal and is good for lots of rock music as well as modern rock/punk stuff such as the Hold Steady.

I understand that bands like ACDC and Hold Steady use expensive tube amps and that they play at high volume but I'm sure there must be a pedal out there that’s £50ish that I can put into my clean Solid State channel and achieve something that approximates the sound I'm after that I can use at home and maybe later at band practice and at a bar gig or two.

I've seen some clips on youtube of pedals I like but I can’t tell if they’re already running through a tube amp and therefore benefiting from having a very decent amp in the sound chain. The ones I like are; Marshall Bluesbreaker and Guvnor, Blackstar LT Drive, Joyo JF16 British Sound. I've also seen the Zoom G1 and Pod 2 which seem very flexible and might give me the most options to help me get a good sound but they seem to get a love/hate reaction!

I guess if this sound is completely unachievable then the question is; is there an OD/distortion sound that works well on Solid States so even if I can't get the tone I want I can get a good quality sound.

I've tried to be as specific as I can but let me know if you need more details to work your magic and recommend something!

Thanks!
Dylan
Last edited by dylanpowles at Sep 12, 2013,