Dear GG&A,

Yesterday, while rehearsing, my Marshall AVT 100 (from 2005) started acting all weird on me. I'll try to describe the problem:

Right after I'm plugged in, I can play normally for about 30 seconds after which I gradually lose output until there is none left. When I unplug the jack and replug it, I have another 30 seconds to play until it starts fading again.

I also noticed kicking or hitting it with my fist has the same result as the unplug-thing.

The strange thing is: I tried with headphones and that output doesn't seem to be affected at all, so there must be a problem with the speaker, right?

I'm kind of afraid because I know it's an amp with a lot of digital stuff in it.

I really love this amp, it's been with me since I started playing the guitar.

So tell me, do I need a new amp?

Kind regards,
Wouter
I fell asleep on my arm once, scariest thing that ever happened to me. I thought it was kill.
It could be just a connection issue, or something much more.

Take it to a tech and have them check it out if you like it that much, or get a Marshall JCM2000 DSL 50/100 for $500 and have a 100x better amp that sounds like a proper Marshall
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Robbgnarly
It could be just a connection issue, or something much more.

Take it to a tech and have them check it out if you like it that much, or get a Marshall JCM2000 DSL 50/100 for $500 and have a 100x better amp that sounds like a proper Marshall

As a college student, I'm very broke. I would consider buying a new amp, but a jcm2000 would set me back at least $700 and that's without a cabinet. Any other tips though? I play symphonic rock so it would have to be versatile...

Because the AVT 100 is the first and only amp I ever bought, I'm kind of a 'noob' when it comes to amps.