Page 1 of 2
Cheers,

I've been playing guitar for 4 yrs and a half (3 years electric) and I own a schecter solo-6 and a Laney Lx20R. It's my first electric gear and I'm pretty happy with it. However through the last year I didnt have the chance to play as much as I wished I had (due to other activities and whatsoever). In general I played oftenly, but it all came down to picking up the guitar and playing a couple songs, improvising, not really practicing, so I can't say I really developed my skills over the past year. Right now, I've made my mind into putting again some quality time into practicing but i'll be making an upgrade for the upcoming spring~summer (I know it's still a long time, but I wanna do my homework soon ). So I'll be purchasing an amp, when the time comes.

To sum it up and to give a large spectrum of tones I seek, I'd name some bands such as mastodon, tool, metallica or even led zeppelin and more 70's, 80's rock oriented. Also I think I'd prefer to go for a rock/hard rock sound amp over a high gain amp, and through pedals get the proper sound to play the heavier things. I'm a big valve fan, so I'd definitely go for that. I've looked into orange micro/tiny terror and I'm also really fond with the blackstar ht series. Opinions?

Edit: It's 90% for home playing. Budget up to 500 € (~500 $)
Last edited by RuiGuitar at Sep 21, 2013,
Marshall JCM2000 DSL completely covers the range you want.

The Laney VH100 is a little bit different alternative, IMO to me the VH is like a slightly more modern DSL. It's better ergonomically, has better loop options and what not. Not a Marshall though.

The Orange Micro Terror is garbage, barely a hybrid. Tiny Terrors are good amps if you like them, but versatility is not their game. Look at the Dual Terror perhaps, or a TH30.

The Peavey VTM is worth looking at, though it's only single channel. Also look at the Ultra Plus and the JSX.