hello,
hello,
I'm new to the world of tube amps and my question is:

what are some good (not extremely expensive) metal amps? How much should I spend to get something decent-good? I play standard tuning, but also drop d and drop c and standard c. Children of bodom, metallica, slayer, arch enemy are the bands i play the most! i play at home but soon i'll have a room to play with a friend of mine (who plays drums)
head and cab combo would be better
I don't really have a budget in mind, but I would certainly buy these thing used to save some money (or to get better stuff for the same money)
Peavey 6505/6505+/5150/5150 II

It's pretty much THE metal amp, great sounding and rather affordable especially used.
That and a 2x12 with Celestion V30s make a solid metal rig already.
If you can't afford it, there an affordable 1x12 combo version of the 6505+.
Fender American Special HSS Stratocaster
Ibanez 1987 Roadstar II Deluxe
Yamaha THR10X
Marshall JCM900 SL-X
Ibanez WD-7 Weeping Demon Wah
TC Electronic Polytune
Seymour Duncan Tweakfuzz
It really depends on the budget.

A Peavey Vypyr tube 60 is a nice metal amp for the price,
then if you can go up you could get a 6505/6505+/6534,
and if you can go even upper you could get a 5150 III.

Depending on what kinda sound you prefer too though, you could also take a look at some Orange Terrors or Rockerverbs or a Laney Ironheart for a britisher, crunchier sound.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
if you're in europe (maybe even america) jet cities are pretty hard to beat for the price. Assuming you don't need too modern of a sound (they're more of an 80s high gain type of tone that super-modern)- from the sounds of the stuff you play, you don't need super modern.