Hello,

I have a J & D Luthiers JD-LSC LP electric guitar and for amp I have the Peavey Vypyr 15. What do you think about them;

I am a complete beginner in music and electric guitar so i would like to suggest me books for learning electric guitar, and for theory of music.

Also, because the electric guitar is completely out of tune can you tell me how to tune my electric guitar;

Is there any thing i must buy in the start?

How can i start learning electric guitar ?

Thanks in advance,
Panagiotis
I haven't tried either of those. The vypyr gets a good rep as a beginner practice modelling amp, though.

i found the complete idiot's guide to music theory to be good. it's not guitar-based, it's more piano, but the piano keyboard is laid out much more sensibly when it comes to learning where all the notes are (to clarify- i'm not saying you should learn piano or anything like that).

I'm not so well up on beginner electric guitar books as i played for a while before buying any books. Amazon has a good selection of books and you can look inside a lot of them to see what they're like before you buy anything.

I'd probably get some kind of "complete beginner course"- I've seen several books like that on amazon when i've been looking at books, but I haven't bought them myself.

In addition I would probably also get a book which explains movable chord shapes to you. That way you can learn the maximum number of chords for the minimum amount of effort. Troy Stetina's book on barre chords is pretty good; rikky rooksby's book on chord construction is pretty good, too ("The chord master") as it has a section on movable chords, among other things. Barre chords can be tricky at the start, though- I'd only get a book like that in addition to a beginner method/lessons type of book and a book on music theory (since often chord books don't have the most in-depth explanations of theory).