Hey All!

I started playing guitar 7 or 8 years ago and have been stuck in what I call an 'advanced beginner' phase (play seldomly on and off, can play basic chords and memorized songs) for that entire duration.

I'm ready to finally take my playing to the next level and I would just like someone to verify that my mechanics look ok. I have attached a few pics fretting with my fingers, do my finger positions on the strings look right? I know you're supposed to be on your fingertips so I didn't know if I would benefit from adjusting at all.

Any tips/pointers/advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you guys in advance!

(Invalid img)

(Invalid img)

(Invalid img)
1) Be more finger-tippy. Cut your fingernails to facilitate this.

2) Try to finger up against the next fret even with your chords. In the 2nd photo, two of your fingers are way too far back from the fret.

3) The 3rd photo looks like you're probably pressing too hard.

4) The pinky should NEVER drop behind the neck. Keep all your fingers ready to use.

5) Your thumb is too high up on the back of the neck, probably to compensate for the poor angle of the fretting fingers. This results in excess tension.

I suggest spending a few minutes a day focusing on relaxation. It's kind of a zen thing - bringing a background awareness to what the body is doing. Tension in the hand will usually spread right up the shoulder and elbow, so try to be aware of how your entire arm, back and neck feel and keep them as loose as possible. I would go so far as to wobble your arm and torso around while playing once in a while. Moving around will only throw you off if you're too tense.