So I am getting a new amp and have 2 that I have to choose from:
Fender hot rod dlx 40 watt tube, blond tolex (used)
Line6 spider iv 150 watt w/fbv mkii pedal (new)

I play a range of music from blues to metal:
older Metallica
SRV
ZZ top
Albert King
BB King
suicidal tendencies
I also might have opportunity to learn some gospel and play at my church.
So my question is: which amp would better suit me? I have never had a tube amp so I am new to tubes.
I mostly play in a music room at my house for now but plan to move to playing out in public some day.
Any opinions would be helpful as I am pretty new to having a choice in my gear.
Without a doubt the Fender Hotrod for what you play. Why is this even a question?
It will be more then loud enough to play live, and will sound a heap better than some oversized digital practice amp.

You might want to invest in a dirt pedal of some sort down the line for Metalica tones, as i know a lot of people dislike the Hotrod's own dirt channel.

Look forward to a New Amp Day from you.

If you want some other options, let us know your budget and location and we can help out with some more suggestions!
^ +1

There is no contest if those are your only two options but WHY are those your only two options? Those 2 amps couldn't be any more different from one another?

There are other amps out there that might fit you better.

The HRD is extremely loud and not really geared for bedroom playing imo - and won't do Metallica at all. The Spider DOES have some advantages but its tone is just meh.

Something like a Peavey Vypyr tube 60 would be a good choice and is kind of inbetween the two amps you are looking. It has great cleans, built in effects, headphone jack and is certainly good enough to gig with.

But honestly, you need to follow our formula to get the best results:

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showpost.php?p=31052894&postcount=2
Being new to tube amps, will it sound good at lower volumes?
How long will the tubes last?