I've been playing guitar for about 5 years now and I've recently joined my first band. We're currently playing modern rock and classic rock covers (Halestorm, Alice Cooper, Whitesnake etc), but are also writing our own material, aiming to eventually be able to play sets consisting of mainly original songs with a couple of covers thrown in for good measure. I'm also the only guitar player in the band.

My equipment currently consists of a Schecter Blackjack SLS C-1 FR-S, a Korg AX3000G multi-effects (borrowed from a friend) and a Crate GT1200H with Crate 4x12 speakers (full stack).

I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to pedals and getting a good tone, so I have a few questions...

1) I want a nice hard rock tone for my amp. I've tried and tried but I can't seem to get a tone that I'm 100% happy with. It's got three channels (Solo, Rhythm and Clean) so if somebody could give me an indication on where to start with the Solo and Rhythm channels, that would be awesome!

2) As mentioned before, I'm currently borrowing the multi-effects I'm using. It seems ok, but some of the effects on it sound a bit pants... As a result, I'm thinking of buying individual pedals for myself but again, I have no idea where to begin! The effects I currently use on the multi-effects are distortion, chorus, delay, tremolo, reverb, wah and a compressor. Any recommendations for good mid-range pedals of these kinds?

I've done a bit of research and was thinking about maybe getting an EQ pedal too. Are they useful though?

3) Is my current equipment actually any good..? Is it the reason why I'm struggling to get a good tone or is that just because I'm new to this kind of thing? Again, suggestions to improve my gear (if necessary) would be much appreciated!