Hey guys, another random question from me

I was wondering, how many chords are there out there that are popular or just sound good?

Do musicians use different types of chord shapes and styles when playing things like electrics to classical?

Are there any particular styles of music that use specific chords? E.g. Jazz with dom 7th chords/scales etc.

I mainly play acoustic, but the few electric songs i have learnt have more basic chords as i assume there is more emphasis on lead and solo playing?

Feel free to throw all kinds of answers my way people, as i am still learning!

Thanks!
i'd love to help answer that but, thruth be told, there is no answer to that question. no matter where you randomly put your fingers on the fretboard, it's a chord.
but yes, many people have a favorite chord set that they use.
need more gear and a lot more talent(courtesytuxs)
there are about and infinite number of chords because technically three notes you put together could be classified as some sort of chord

so the better thing to do instead of learning chords is learning how to construct chords from chord formulas(major chord 135 dom7 135b7) (requires learnign notes on fretboard and a bit of basic theory)

different styles use different chords youre going to see alot more power chords in rock than in classical and alot more 7th in jazz there are no set rules however usually ive written some rocking songs that have a very heavy classical influences in chords and arrangement
and some very jazzy instrumentals
In addition you also have synthetic chords, so pretty much, yes there's "infinite number of chords". When I saw this I was like, "heh...how many...lol...."
Thanks for all your replies people

I think I get it Chords and Scales are very much built on tradition and what sounded good over the years (correct me or add info if I'm wrong please).

I just looked into synthetic chords and i like the sound of the first one I came across.