To start off I would like to say I'm mostly self taught and have never taken formal guitar lessons. I would consider myself I decent guitarist and have been playing for roughly three years. Now with that said, I barely know ANYTHING about music theory and which chords go together and barely have any knowledge of scales. I know all your basic chords open and barred, but beyond that I am pretty much helpless. I generally just work around until I find chords and notes that sound good together. Anyway, to the point, I have been working on a song and have my basic riff and chord progression down. The problem is I would like to add a solo and I have literally no clue what sort of scale would go along with the music. Here's the chords I'm using

E|---x---x---x----3---
B|---3---3---1---3---
G|---0---0---2---4---
D|---5---2---3---5---
A|---5---3---3---5---
E|---x---x---x----3---

Which I believe is some form of a G chord into some form of a C chord into Fmaj into Cmaj. So can anyone please give me some advice on what sort of scale would fit into this, if any?
Last edited by DeanIsLig at Oct 2, 2013,
Are your strings named correctly?
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
try the minor pentatonic scale man. It's the standard for all solos. Try it out and see how it sounds in the various positions.
Quote by strat-O-matic92
try the minor pentatonic scale man. It's the standard for all solos. Try it out and see how it sounds in the various positions.

That works great until it doesn't. Playing a minor pentatonic won't work in a lot of scenarios. It's the standard for a lot of Rock and Blues solos but nowhere near all solos.
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
Quote by BladeSlinger