NGD a year in the making!

Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!

This is my first true custom guitar, a Camelback III from RockBeach guitars or NY. It started with pictures I saw of a Camelback that had been made for another client. I rudely asked how much it cost, and the price quoted me convinced me to give it a go.

Only 2 kinds of wood were used: Claro Walnut and Birdseye Maple. While the is some modest clambering, this is still a slab of wood. Body contouring is modest. Haven't weighed it yet, but it is probably the heaviest guitar I own. The Claro was from a huge slab I picked from Woodnuts, and actually turned out to be big enough to make 2 guitars. So that's what the plan became- the rest of the Claro will be used to make guitar #2, a Telecaster with a bridge HB, a neck P90, and a Bigsby. (Coming in 2014!)

It's a hardtail HSS, 25.5" scale, and a bolt on neck. Pickups are a pair of Tesla OPUS-S1 singlecoils in the neck & middle, while the bridge is inhabited by a Tesla VR-Extreme.

Tuning is CGDAEG.

Quoting G. Bogosian, the luthier: "...(t)he tone controls work more like contours than high filters and are much more subtle. Use the controls on the amp for bigger changes. The middle knob is tone contour for the neck pickup and the bottom one which is a push-push switch to change the humbucker from series to parallel (NOT a push-pull) controls the middle pickup contour. The VR-Extreme bridge is balls-to-the-walls straight through only affected by the push-push switch. VERY clean signal."