I own a really cute blackheart BH5 head, which I'm playing through the 8" speaker of my SS Randall 25w combo.

I am planning on buying a Harley Benton G212 Vintage, and then something came to my mind:
used staff usually comes for less money.

I'm no real expert here so why not asking my lovely UG fellows and fellowettes:
what could the disadvantages of buying a used cab be?
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
There is no warranty.

I buy used gear almost all the time now. New gear that I want is expensive
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
no warranty, as said

in addition to that:

it could be a lemon that the seller is looking rid of

you don't know how the seller looked after it. admittedly that's more of a concern with other guitar gear than a cab, most likely, but still.

if you can't see inside the cab you don't know for sure what speakers are in there- the seller could have modded it to contain cheaper speakers without your knowledge

seller might cosh you over the head and sell you as a sex slave

some of those are fairly unlikely, to be fair, but they do sometimes happen

are you trying to keep the volume of your blackheart as low as possible, or trying to increase its volume? also, what type(s) of tones are you after? That HB cab is killer value, but you have to need/want v30s for it to be a good idea.