Last night I tweaked out what I thought was the best tone I've gotten out of my Eleven Rack. I played to a drum track using Addictive Drums and the track is just guitar and drums, no bass guitar added.

The main purpose here was to test how the guitar sounded (thats why theres a chunk with no drums also). This morning I listened to it again on some other computer speakers instead of my monitors and it sounded to me like I may need to dial back on the bass a bit and when it comes to mastering it later on I'm going to need to turn the gain up some and compress it a bit.

I'm new to recording anything really and would love some tips from anyone while I'm here! Is there a certain decibel range that rhythm metal guitar should be between? Bass guitar as well?

EDIT:

Here's the link! Sorry guys, I'm an idiot and forgot to put it here earlier:

http://tindeck.com/listen/ifdh
Last edited by MegaDTSX at Oct 17, 2013,
Do you have a link? Sorry If I am blind but I don't see one

Just so this post isn't a waste, I'll tell you basically what everyone else will tell you: as far as decibels go (not sure why you want to know that) i would say loud. Metal is notoriously loud. If you mean frequency, I usually boost 250 hz, 1.4-1.6khz and like 6.7-7khz for presence, unless you think it is treble-y enough without that boost. Hi Pass at 150-200hz (usually 200 to let the snare have that area of the frequency spectrum) and low pass at like 12k i guess that's usually what I do. I also scoop out a lot of muddiness at like 400-500hz and sometimes 700-800hz and scoop out fizz at 3-4khz. this is all opinion and I am sure someone will argue with me but thats what i do. You really have to find out what you like. As far as tips on YOUR tone, again, I can't find a link anywhere so can't help you ha-ha.