So I have a les paul with probuckers in it, and I like most of the sounds I can get from the stock pickups, because they coil split, but I would like to get a hotter sound out them sometimes.

I'm a college student, and I use this les paul in one of the jazz groups at school, occasionally play blues with some friends, but prefer to play/practice metal. so I don't want to simply replace them with actives.

I noticed the alexi emg was a passive pickup with a gainboost and eq. and I like bodom so I thought a similar route would be a good option for my les paul, because I could just turn the boost off to play at school.

so

I am aware its not the same as a set of 81/85s, but it would be closer right?

also does anybody have experience with and know if a gainboost can be assigned to a tone knob? because my 2 volume pots are already push pull for the coil split.

and can this even be wired to act on both pickups on push pull, but have turning the pot act on 1 pickup only (les paul individual pick volume and tone)

if anybody wants to take a whack at any of those questions it would be much appreciated

oh and idk if the model matters but its an Epi Les Paul Custom Pro, and I'm open to suggestions on other boost/eqs besides the afterburner (which doesn't have an eq does it?)
Before you wire something into your guitar, try a compressor first. I find it helps get the active sound without having to modify your guitar.
Quote by patriotplayer90
Lolz that guy is a noob.

Egnater
Leave it on the press, Depress Depress Taboot Taboot.
i had an afterburner at one point, yes it increases output, but it is so loud and noisy that if you weren't playing for a second time it just hissed.

i am not too up on compressors, but Jhachey22 knows what he is doing.

maybe an EQ in the loop for a boost? then you can balance the frequencies if you want to boost. need violum and gain controls really. MXR 10 band.

or if you want to go out front get a timmy.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7