Sup, fellas,

Quick basic question: How long did it take you to remember every note on the fretboard?

I've been playing for about 5 months now and people tell me I've made gifted-level progress. When I mess around in music shops, customers and owners always ask me if I play for a living.

Only problem is, I don't feel like I'm making all that much progress. I know where all the basic chords are. I'm getting very good at bar chords. I can solo relatively well.

But I don't know why. I feel like I've ran into a brick wall with my progress because now I'm trying to learn voicing chords in different ways and this obviously demands that you know all the note positions. I've heard people falling into the habit of memorizing simple patterns, like the octaves and CAGED, but I feel like that would cripple me down the line so instead I'm trying to commit to memory every note position and it's coming along painfully slowly.

I've invented (or more like noticed, since I'm sure I'm not the first person to do these) like 14 mnemonic devices for the notes, such as "BEAD" below the B note on the E string, and D on the B string being moved up one semitone when starting BEAD on the A string.

I have a tendency to ALWAYS wind up fooling around by the little DEG triangle pattern (7, 9 G string to 8 on B string) and that's helping around that area.

Anyway, I'm rambling. How long did you take you all to memorize the fretboard completely? I feel like it would have not taken so long.
Last edited by J4y5()n at Oct 19, 2013,
As for memorizing the Fretboard, in my opinion, Learn the Note names but more importantly, learn to see where every interval(degree) is and associate the degrees to how they sound.
It has a lot to do with ear training, without the ear training aspect knowing the interval degrees will only get you so far.
I don't know how helpful it is. I mean Hetfield during the classic Metallica days according to him, didn't know the names of chords or notes.
Washburn MG-44(E)