I've been playing for the past 5-7 years, stuff like DT, A7X, Megadeth, some Dragonforce, and I can't decide on which guitar to buy. There's just so many! I'm willing to spend around $1500. What should I buy?

EDIT: Something that sounds really good, studio-level good. And somewhat easy to play, not rigid like some guitars.
Last edited by shanu2 at Oct 20, 2013,
I would go with a Sterling JP100D you will even save some money, and it's a great guitar...
Go japanese.

Look at Fender Japan, Tokai, Greco, Burny and Fernandes. Focus on the higher-end products. You can even get pseudo "vintage" stuff that's about thirty years old and vintage correct to the specs of a 50 year-old Gibson or Fender classic guitar. And plays and sounds amazing.

I am currently loving my Tokai strat, which is a copy of a '56 Fender. But Tokai also make Gibson copies.
Most $1500 guitars sound good. I mean, I would be surprised if that expensive guitar didn't sound good. You just need to try some guitars and pick the one that feels and sounds the best to you.

What amp/other gear do you have? Do you want a whammy bar?

^ For music like that I wouldn't suggest Fender Strat (at least not with single coils) - I mean, it could do it but if that's the style you primarily play, you want something with humbuckers.

Maybe look at Ibanez Prestige.

And no guitar is easy or hard to play. That's all about preferences and good/bad set up. Some people like thin Ibanez necks and can't play on fat necks. And some people can't play on thin necks. It's all about preferences so you just need to try some guitars. I mean, if everybody liked similar guitars, there would only be one guitar model. Why would they even make different kind of guitars if one design was objectively the easiest to play?
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12