We're creating an infographic called something like "n reasons why the guitar is the coolest instrument ever!" and I'd love your input. It could be anything - serious, whacky, funny, ridiculous - anything.

So, why do YOU think the guitar is the coolest instrument ever?

What do I think? It's the coolest because almost every major genre of music has a different guitar (or different guitars) for that type of music - example classical, folk, blues, country, rock, etc.

- Holden Hinkle
Encore Music Lessons
Quote by JustRooster
Because I started playing it.

/thread.

This, of course, would be the definitive answer and none more needed when it comes to guitar.

Your entire hypothesis (the guitar is the coolest instrument ever), however, would be faulty if JustRooster had, for some reason, decided NOT to start playing it.

Drums/percussion actually covers far more "genres" of music. Your definition of "genres" of music leaves out most of the majors and covers only those minor variations that have been guitar-centric pop over the last century. Remember that the guitar as we know it hasn't been around all that long. Other stringed instruments have been around, as well as reeds, brass, etc. long before guitars showed up. Keyboards have been used in far more classical and pop-type music than almost anything else.

Even today, as guitar declines in importance, keyboards remain. Today's most popular artists are single female singers and a few hip-hop artists, and in neither category are guitars central to their existence.

*Ahem* Sorry about that. I'll now go and take my meds and have my first cup of coffee for the morning. My knuckles will stop dragging if I stand up straight and I'll leave the club over in that corner, right...over...there.
Last edited by dspellman at Oct 21, 2013,
The guitar still accounts for more unit sales than any other instrument.

Portability + Flexibility are its keys to success.
Quote by dannyalcatraz