Hey everyone,

Just recently I signed up for an intermediate guitar group in my local community. I've been playing for about 3 years and have some basic knowledge of theory, ear training, and overall technique/musicianship. I can't solo to save my life or play a full song. Most of the guys in the guitar group are much older (40+) and have been playing since they were teenagers and usually by ear. I'm 23 and have mostly learned just from Mel Bay (book one), Learn and Master Guitar (made it up to the fingerstyle session), and putting together random information here and there. Little to no ear playing at all. The overall intent of the purpose of this guitar group is for us to learn how to interact with other musicians and basically find our own voice and express creativity. The instructor said he wants us to eventually go off in groups of threes and he'll give us a key to work with and we'll all have like 10 mins to come up with a song out of that. One of us playing rhythm, one playing lead, and the other fingerpicking. Then we'll switch and take turns. The whole idea and concept of it is something I am definitely into and exactly what I need to become the musician i'd like to be.