Can someone explain what's going on in this video?

Edit: Apparently I can't post links yet: It's YouTube followed by:

...tube.com/watch?v=jPmH9joWq98

At first it sounded like a pretty pedestrian mix of barre chords and pentatonic melodies, until I paid more attention to his strumming hand and realized he's strumming the entire time, even when individual notes are clearly ringing out.

I've been playing off and on for a few years, learned a bunch of scales, chords, songs, decent music theory, etc., but I've never quite seen a technique like this.

If anyone could provide some details on what this technique is, how it's done, or even better, point me towards some decent literature on it (videos, articles, books, anything), I'd love to learn all I can about it. Thanks in advance.
Last edited by adrienfr at Oct 24, 2013,
Sorry, I realize this should be in Guitar Techniques. If someone could move it for me I'd appreciate it. Thanks.
He's raking, and just being precise with his picking hand.

He's muting everything that he doesn't want to play and then hits all the bottom strings in order to play the open note, so you get a strong attack and the muted strings behind to give it a beefier tone.

He really needs to work on his vibrato. But that was 3 years ago so he might be much better.

EDIT: I watched a few newer ones and it's kinda the same, but he does sound a bit better.
Last edited by Mephaphil at Oct 24, 2013,
are you sure he's strumming all the strings there all the time? looks to me like he's not, but i dunno for sure even if he is he could be muting like Mephaphil says, of course.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3