I'm just curious. I'm a bassist, and I have lots of guitarist friends who love both electric and acoustic. I've jammed with them on electric before, but never when we're both playing acoustics.

Why are acoustic guitarists usually playing alone? I get the whole "singer-songwriter, do-it-yourself" vibe, and I think acoustic guitar sounds great by itself...I'm just surprised you don't see the guitar/bass acoustic jam done more often.
Probably because 1) acoustic basses are expensive AND 2) most solo guitar players aren't aiming for a bigger sound
Acoustic basses also aren't loud usually... I'm a bass player and I jam with acoustic guitars with an electric bass usually just so that I can be heard.
I wouldn't say that theyare usually playing alone. I can think of a whole heap of bands that use acoustic guitars, at least in some songs.

Otherwise they're a great portable instrument. They're light, can be relatively cheap, sound great and you can sing while playin them. For those reasons guitars are the solo musician's instrument of choice.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
Because acoustic guitar sound works on its own (in "singer-songwriter" kind of music). Electric guitar kind of doesn't - at least not as well.

But if there are drums, there's usually a bass too. I don't think bass is that much needed unless there are drums (and IMO if there is a bass, you also need drums - they kind of work together). Guitar + drums sounds pretty thin. But acoustic guitar on its own sounds just fine.

But yeah, if you watch MTV Unplugged, all bands have acoustic guitars, bass and drums.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
I reckon that an acoustic bass is more expensive that an acoustic guitar.