I've been playing guitar for a few years and am trying to increase my general lead capabilities, with speed and precision being two goals. I don't want to do super fast metal-style shredding, but rather something more like SRV-style blues soloing. Fast, but in a bluesy way.

I'm going way back to basics and simply doing the following as a practice routine for a while to get myself on the right path:

- Set the metronome as low as I need (I'm actually all the way down in the 75-85 bpm range for now)

- Play the minor pentatonic in all five positions up and down the neck

- Use hammer-ons for ascending, pull-offs for descending

My plan is to simply do this for a while; no string skipping, no tricks, just legato-style ascents and descents up and down the fretboard. My immediate goal is to at least be able to do this without any mistakes and perfect smoothness, then gradually speed it up. After that, I'll start practicing more actual licks.

The problem is, even this keeps tripping me up. I dunno if I'm lacking some particular hand coordination gene, but even at 75pm, doing pure hammer-on/pull-off scale runs, I'm still picking the wrong string, fretting the wrong note, etc. Overall I can do it, but my accuracy is stuck at like 70-80%. Not good enough to progress.

Has anyone had similar experiences, and is there a more intelligent way for me to approach lead guitar than this?
You should always practice stuff at a tempo where it's doable, if that means doing it at 40 bpm that it. If you practice at higher speeds and make mistakes your brain is going memorize that.

You want to practice at lower speeds, and practice perfectly, so you are playing accurate, cleanly and relaxed. It takes discipline to not speed up but if you keep doing this you will develop a habit of playing accurately at this tempo, when you've done that it's time to speed up.